//
you're reading...
Inspirational, Journal Poetry

Holidays


Greetings everyone! Happy holidays!! 🙂 I would like to apologize for being gone for so long. My uncle’s stage four cancer and the holidays had me feeling the need to pull in close with family and express my love more than usual. I pray everyone’s holiday was special and unforgettable. Even though I was missing in action I did not fail to journal my ideas and outline them for my return. A few moments ago I posted the meaning of existence which has been on my mind for some time now. I have been asked the question” why are we here?” On numerous occasions and felt it appropriate to share this morning. There are many who are lost, weary, worried, and depressed about where they are, who they are and what they are going to be doing in the future. So, I hope that post helped. Later I will be sharing some of my organizational secrets with you. To get back on topic of the holidays I would like to address giving. I am blessed to have a father who is successful and has spent many years at a company where he could afford the opportunity to give my family and I extraordinary holidays all my life. I am grateful for every Christmas that we spent unpacking all of our lights and ornaments and putting them on or fake tree. I rolled around restless in bed waiting for twelve to hit so my brother and I could set up our tracks and tooting train, but before that we had to lay on our backs under the tree and look up at the colorful blinking lights. As adults we still gather like children to proudly give out our hard work-paid presents and except what was given to us. The idea of Christmas brings warmth to my heart because being raised in a family where helping others is important we take time to go visit less fortunate families and share with them gifts, so they can feel the same joy we feel every Christmas. Spreading our cheer and goodwill means more than receiving gifts. My parents instilled great values into my brother and myself and they feel honored to know that we gained large hearts.  Hearts of unconditional love, and selfless giving. Even if you are short on money giving your time is just as rewarding and special to those who can’t afford to get out and socialize. We also tend to forget about the elderly. When I had more spare time as a teenager I used to volunteer at my local elderly home painting and playing chess with the residents, Catching tons of laughs and hearing the greatest stories you could imagine. I’ll never replace those memories from my brain because they made me feel like I was making a difference in someone’s life. That type of giving is some times sad because you make so many friends just to lose them and when you do its heart breaking but to see a smile on their face makes it all an after thought and well worth the sadness. Life is complicated not just for yourself but for others as well and even something as simple as a smile could turn the day of a down person around. So, think about that the next time you are passing a stranger. Practice giving all year round not just on these special days. You don’t need the calender to know when to be charitable. 🙂 peace and love everyone and stay tuned for more.

About Society of Free Thinkers

I critically think constantly about many topics. I strongly believe that in society we need to implement equality, freedom, & encourage free thinking in our educational institutions, in order to produce qualified and emotionally stable professionals in the work force. Creativity is what unearths innovations. Nurturing our young, and someone else's, will end violence, and foster emotional stability in children early. I want the world in it's entirety, to be a better place to live in and believe that every society needs a reality check... Something is obviously wrong and in need of change, from the people down to the politics. "Society of Free Thinkers" is a place to educate yourselves freely and to voice your opinion on important worldly topics, in a judgment free area.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Share Your Thoughts

